190 delegates from 26 countries met at the European Academy’s conference in Copenhagen, Denmark from 15 – 16 May 2010.

The event appealed to those with a diverse range of clinical, research and educational interests and featured keynote presentations from Professor Bernard Gilmartin (Aston University) on myopia and Dr Barbara Ryan (Cardiff University) on postgraduate education.

Delegates heard a broad range of oral presentations from researchers and academics from across Europe. They benefited from the opportunity to engage directly with researchers at the poster presentations.

Commenting Dr Feike Grit, President of the European Academy said:

The excellent response to our Copenhagen meeting demonstrates the real desire for events which promote clinical, educational and scientific excellence that transcends geographical barriers. This year’s conference programme was structured around, but not limited to, the themes of education and research. We presented an ambitious, exciting programme and feedback from delegates was exceptionally positive.”

This year’s conference programme was extended to include Academy member-only round-table discussion groups. Academy members had the opportunity to discuss strategies for optometry research and share ideas on the challenges in assessing professionals within Europe. The programme also featured a range of workshops on communication skills, managing clinics, Optical Coherence Tomography and screening and diagnosis. Workshops were designed to support the development of practical skills.

For the first time the Academy awarded prizes for the best poster and oral presentation. The College of Optometrists sponsored these prizes which were judged by the Academy’s Abstract and Programme Panel. Professor Giancarlo Montani won the prize for his oral presentation ‘Change of Tear Film in Keratoconus and its Management with Solium Hyaluronate Eye Drops’ and Dr Heiko Pult’s poster focusing on ‘The Impact of Soft Contact Lens Wear on Ocular signs with Increasing Experience’.

Academy elections were held at the event and votes were cast by members in three Trustee categories:

  • Frank Buijs (University of Applied Sciences, Hogeschool Utrecht, Netherlands) was elected to in category one – representative of European Educational Institutions.
  • Professor Rossella Fonte was elected to category three – individual educationalists. Professor Fonte had been seconded to the Board in 2009 in this category.
  • Christian Stebler was elected in category four – individual practitioner. Christian had previously served on the Board as an ECOO nominee (2009-2010).

The current Treasurer, Nick Parker was re-elected unopposed and Professor Roger Anderson joined the Board as an ECOO nominee (category two).

Two new Academy programmes were launched at this year’s conference, Academy Fellowship and Special Interest Groups. Special Interest Groups aim to provide members with the unique opportunity to build geographical and specialist links with colleagues in the following areas: Cornea; Contact Lenses and Refractive Technology; Education and Refraction, Dispensing and Visual Optics. The Academy’s new Fellowship programme will recognise those who have made significant contribution to the practice of optometry or optics.

Programme and abstracts booklet

You can download the programme and abstracts booklet below, which contains the full programme and details of conference sessions:

Copenhagen 2010: Programme and abstracts booklet

The Academy’s next annual conference will be held in Prague from 13 – 15 May 2011.

Academy Major Sponsors:

Academy Major Sponsor, supporting education

Copenhagen Photo Gallery

Copenhagen Press Release

Academy meets in Copenhagen 040610

Back to Top